Types Of Nigerian Passport And Their Requirement

Types Of Nigerian Passport And Their Requirement
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Do you know there are 5 types of Nigerian Passport and their requirement that is available to Nigerians. I am sure some of you may not know this, so to know better continue reading.

There are 5 different types of passport in Nigeria issued by the Nigerian Immigration Service, they are-

  1. Standard Passport (Green Cover)
  2. Pilgrims Passport (colour changes yearly)
  3. Seamans Passport (maroon cover)
  4. Diplomatic Passport (red cover)
  5. Official Passport (blue cover)

Standard Passport

Standard Passport is also known as the international passport, which is the name most people know it to be. Furthermore, It is the passport type that is given to the general public, the civilians. Also, There are also two types of Nigerian international standard passport. The 32 page passport and 64 page passport. For less frequent and more frequent trips.


Types Of Nigerian Passport And Their Requirement
Types Of Nigerian Passport And Their Requirement

The requirement for the standard passport For Adult is given below –

  1. Completed passport application form
  2. Proof of payment/acknowledgement slip
  3. Two recent passport-size photographs
  4. Letter of ID from local Government/state of origin
  5. Birth Certificate
  6. Name Change affidavit (if applicable)
  7. Marriage Certificate (if applicable)
  8. Completed Guarantor’s form (with photocopy of data page of Guarantor’s Nigerian E-Passport and one passport-size photograph of the Guarantor)
  9. Court Affidavit and police report in case of lost passport
  10. Drivers licence (if applicable)


Read also: How To Get Attestation Of Your Certificate In Nigeria

For Minors (below 18 years of age)

  1. Completed passport application form
  2. Birth Certificate
  3. Proof of Payment
  4. One passport-size photograph (signed on reverse side by consenting parent)
  5. Evident of Nigerian citizenship of parent/s
  6. Letter of consent from both parents

Pilgrim Passport

For Nigerians that are going on pilgrimages to holy lands such as Mecca and Jerusalem are the ones they give this type of passports. And it is only valid for six months. Meanwhile, this passport type does not have a stable cover colour because of security reasons.

More on Types Of Nigerian Passport And Their Requirement –

Seamans Passport

This is a type of passport for Nigerians who work on sea/ocean, going vessels, or watercrafts.

Requirements for Seamans passport are as follow-

  1. Completed application form
  2. Declaration of age(Birth Certificate)
  3. Identification Letter
  4. Acknowledgement slip
  5. Receipt or proof of payment
  6. Two Passport size photographs
  7. Guarantor’s driving license or National Identity Card
  8. Guarantor’s passport data page photocopy

Diplomatic Passport 

Diplomatic Passport is a passport for protocol officers in government and government ambassadors, consulate and so on.

Then the requirement for diplomatic passport are:

1. One passport photograph.

2. Letter of introduction from applicant’s ministry, and parastatal or extra ministerial department.


Read Also:10 Craziest Things Found By Airport Security

Official Passport

This is the type of passport given to government officials such as ministers, Governors, permanent secretaries, secretary general of the federation, CBN governor, Army and others military officials, top police officials, DSS, government parastatals etc.

Requirements For Official Passport –

  1. Completed passport application form
  2. Letter of introduction from applicant ministry, parastatal, ministerial department and so on duly signed by an officer not below the rank of a director etc
  3. One passport photograph
  4. Proof of payment


In conclusion, if it is your first time of applying for a Nigerian passport you will have to apply online as fresh passport, it is just a term used for new application for the first time in any category.

After reading this, you now know the different types of Nigerian e-passports.

Thank you for reading.

Comment your thought at the comment area.

Get more info at- https://portal.immigration.gov.ng/passport/basicinfo/applied/Tkc%3D/type/sep

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Popular Posts